Movie news!

I’m thrilled to announce that Summit (the producers of the Twilight movies) is optioning A CERTAIN SLANT OF LIGHT and the script that Kristin Hahn wrote for it. It’s so exciting. I’ll keep you updated!

21 Responses to “Movie news!”

  1. buttcheeksunite Says:

    I’ve been waiting for this news since the book first came out. I’m so excited! I hope it all works out.

  2. Karen Hooper Says:

    SSOL is still one of my all time fav books so I am SO excited about this. And thrilled. And wish it was already out in theaters.

    Yay! CONGRATS!

  3. curiousnomad Says:

    woohooo. +punches fist in the air+

  4. Jacki Chase Says:

    Nooooo!!!! 😦

  5. Share Says:

    So exciting! I’ve been waiting for SLANT to be made into a film for so long 🙂 It will be fantastic!

  6. Candy Says:

    Oh my god !!! I cant believe it . I love this book so much. I am super pumped for this movie .

  7. Casey Rojas Says:

    This is SO exciting!!! Are there any recent news about it?? Although, I guess if there was you might have posted about it huh?

  8. Kate Cyr Says:

    I read this book as a high schooler many years ago, and since then I think I’ve persuaded over twenty people to read it (I pitched it heavily in a couple of my university’s fiction writing classes). It’s my absolute favorite book, and I am so happy for you, Ms. Whitcomb. Although I’m a little bit sad it will no longer be my “secret book” anymore, I’m excited that this beautiful, well-written story will finally be shared on the world’s stage! Now I just need to find out which agency is handling the casting, so I can audition for a role. (Any role–even “Church picnic attendee #15!”)

    • Laura Whitcomb Says:

      Awww, you made my day — thank you! BTW, what part of the country do you live in? If they do film it and I get any info about where, I can let you know in case there’s local casting. =)

      • Kate Cyr Says:

        You are so welcome, and that is very very kind of you 🙂 I would absolutely love any information you receive. I live in Charleston, SC but am looking for my next big adventure, so who knows where the wind might blow me next!

  9. cellardoor91 Says:

    I’m so pleased to hear that a film version is being made of this achingly beautiful story! There’s so much room for greatness. I just hope that Summit doesn’t try to water down the elements from your book in order to reach a target audience.

    After all, “A Certain Slant of Light” is NOT Twilight – and the key demographic is a bit more mature. Not to mention very literate (your references to William Blake & Emily Dickinson etc.) Will you have any involvement?

    And, have you ever seen “Til Human Voices Wake Us” or “American Beauty”? For some reason, those movies give off the same emotions that I felt while reading your gorgeous book…

    • Laura Whitcomb Says:

      Thank you for your lovely words–I hope Summit makes a great film of SLANT. That would be a dream come true. It’s optioned right now. I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  10. madeline Says:

    when is it suppose to be offical i need to see it!!!

    • Kate Says:

      Oh I hope she does! :-/ In regards to Twilight, there seemed to be so many key things that were lost between the completion of a book and the birth of its screenplay. I can only wonder how many things Ms. Meyer fought for. Edward’s personality did stay quite intact though and seemed to reflect someone who had lived over 100 years: quite mature and worldly. This aspect of SLANT is obviously the most crucial! Like Anna said, these are adults in teenage bodies,and hopefully this isn’t underplayed. The absolute last thing any fan of this book wants to see is Billy and Jenny resembling shallow teenagers (unless of course the characters are occasionally trying to “blend in”). I can’t think of any other books where the lead characters are not from this time, it has to be fully acknowledged! I also hope they are able to get the emotional feel right and not focus on something too much, especially the sexual aspect. Ugh, that would be so typical! This book has so much depth and many themes that still seem to have remained quite untouched on the big screen (the over parenting/religion and neglect aspects). Jeesh, it really is easy to feel protective. I have no doubt the protectiveness we feel is 100X less than what you feel, Ms. Whitcomb, and that is why I’m incredibly optimistic.If you ever need our opinions/thoughts on anything, you know we’re all here to offer our support! Is there any possibility of you being able to/wanting to direct SLANT, like Stephen Chbosky directed “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”?? Just a thought/wishful thinking hehe.

      • Laura Whitcomb Says:

        Hey, Kate. No, I won’t be directing. That doesn’t happen very often and I don’t think I have that particular skill set, but I’m flattered you thought of it. =)

    • Laura Whitcomb Says:

      Hi, Madeline. Am waiting to hear about plans for the movie, but no new news yet. I’ll post updates as I get them. Thanks for the support!

  11. Anna Donovan Says:

    I humbly beseech that you abandon this project unless you plan to take it seriously and promote the heavy emphasis on literature and freedom of expression that are the underlying theme of the novel. This is a project that could have the potential for young people to take a look at who they actually are. I do t want to watch another novel that influenced my blossoming into adulthood to be treated as a supremely sex-driven corporate machine. If you have an ounce of humanity left, keep in mind that the ghosts are actually already adults with 135, and 85 years respectively of observational experience and have ultimately been alone since their deaths. Respect their story. The themes of extreme over parenting and neglect are also themes that deserve focus.

    • Laura Whitcomb Says:

      Ah, I agree. I hope a tasteful, moving, wonderfu movie is made of SLANT. I believe the producer, Kristin Hahn, also respects the book the way you do. Thank you for being so protective.

Leave a Reply

