Baby news!

My son, Robinson David Whitcomb, was born on Friday, January 29, 2010, at 5:03 am in Chicago, Illinois. He was 16 ½  inches long and weighed 5 pounds and 3 ounces. 

Binny, 5 days old

I have been on the adoption path for five years, but now my dream has come true! My sister, Cynthia, came with me to Chicago to welcome him into his new family. I can’t wait to introduce him to the rest of our gang, his dog Maximus, his nursery, Oregon, well . . . everything! His favorite song so far is Walkin’ My Baby Back Home (with somewhat modified lyrics.) He sleeps about 18 out of every 24 hours, 6 of them at night. He likes having his hair shampooed. He doesn’t like having his diaper changed. And he’s good at burping without sending any formula back.  Binny (short for Robinson) and I are still in Chicago waiting for our adoption “traveling papers” but we hope to be home very soon.

our first meeting

Sorry to anyone who emailed me asking a question that I didn’t answer. Please try again, if you don’t hear from me. I have “new mommy” brain. It’s a little frightening but also thrilling to face the challenge of learning to balance a writing career and motherhood. You’ll be hearing more on that later. Thanks for all your good thoughts and best wishes.

9 Responses to “Baby news!”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Oh my gosh, congratulations! He’s so beautiful!

  2. Wendela Says:

    So very, very, very happy for you both! And Maximus, too!

  3. Ka-Yam Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS Laura!!! Best wishes to you, and your new little angel! He’s sooooo adorable and little!!! 😀

  4. samosa Says:

    AWWW. Cute ^^
    Congrats & welcome to the oven of freshly-baked mommies! 😉

  5. Susie Says:

    I’m so excited! Yay! I’ll show this to my folks.

    It’s fun to have another cousin. 🙂

    Love you!
    Susie

  6. Robin L Says:

    Oh Yeah!!! Another cousling to love. I am so happy for all of you and can’t wait to hold Binny.

    Robin

  7. Tara Says:

    Laura, I am soo excited for you and Robinson. What a lucky little boy to have you for a mommy!! I know you have so much love to give him!! You and he will have so many great adventured together, I am sure!! I just couldn’t be more happy for you. 🙂

  8. Alethea Says:

    Yay! What a sweetheart! 😀

  9. Samina Says:

    Congratulations to you! Robinson has a very talented mummy : ) All the best for the future – Samina

Leave a Reply

