The Kay Snow Writing Awards!

The Kay Snow Contest is an annual writing award run by Willamette Writers in Oregon, but you don’t need to be an Oregonian to enter. Student writers are awarded $50 for first place in three grade divisions, $20 for second place, and $10 for third place. For adults, first prize of $300, second place prize of $150, third place prize of $50 one each in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, juvenile, poetry, and screenwriting. Find out more by going to Kay Snow Contest Guidelines. The deadline is April 23rd, 2010.

This contest helped me break in – I won second place in adult poetry about eleven years ago and first place in writing for juveniles about seven years ago. Mentioning these awards in my query letter helped get Ann Rittenberg’s attention before she signed me for A CERTAIN SLANT OF LIGHT.

Good luck, everyone! And happy holidays!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: