Favorite finds at Wordstock . . .

I was only able to attend Wordstock for a few hours, but I picked up three gems.

B Nelson cover

 

 

 

 

When I did a reading from THE FETCH, I shared the stage with Blake Nelson and was delighted by his reading from DESTROY ALL CARS. Very funny. Very original. The inner workings of a teenaged boy unfold for the reader through samples of the boy’s writing: journal entries, essays, and school assignments. It’s brilliant. And a hoot.

tear thief

When I wanted to make myself a lanyard for my nametag, I begged a piece of ribbon from a friendly children’s publisher (Barefoot Books.) While in their booth, I found a beautiful and sweet picture book called THE TEAR THIEF. The story is strange (about a being who takes stolen tears to enhance the light of the moon) and the illustrations are charmingly eerie. A delightfully ethereal combination.

9 horses cover

 

 

 

 

Also, in the Powell’s booth at Wordstock I picked up a copy of NINE HORSES by Billy Collins. I’d heard a recording of this man reading his own poetry and fell in love. So far my favorite is “Litany” which I suppose you might call a spoof. “You are the bread and the knife . . . however, you are not the wind in the orchard . . . ” Go get one of this guy’s books. Wonderful stuff.

2 Responses to “Favorite finds at Wordstock . . .”

  1. susanlongbooks Says:

    Laura, I saw you read at Wordstock and was so intrigued by your FETCH. Can’t wait to read it. One of my favorite Billy Collins poems is “Forgetfulness.”

Leave a Reply

