An afternoon at the library . . .

This weekend, Sunday (September 27, 2009) from 3:30 to 5:30, I’ll be teaching at the Wilsonville public library as part of the Northwest Author Series (hosted by WRITER MAMA author Christina Katz).

I’ll be talking about some of the topics covered in my second book on writing, NOVEL SHORTCUTS. The cost in minimal ($5.00 at the door) and there’s no need to register in advance. The library is located at 8200 SW Wilsonville Road, Wilsonville Oregon 97070. Call the library at (503) 682-2744 with other questions or email me through my website. 

I would love any of you in town to come along. The more bodies in the room, the better the energy dances.

NovelShortcuts

2 Responses to “An afternoon at the library . . .”

  1. Rebecca C Wright Says:

    Hi,
    I just wanted to pop in and tell you how much I appreciate your books on writing. I am a new writer but not new in any other sense of the word;)
    Your books don’t talk down or make me feel inadequate as a adult trying to learn how to to write fiction. Finally I feel like I am “getting” something truly informative and usable out of a book on how to write! After reading the section in “Novel Shortcuts” on “Finding the Core of Your Story” I grabbed my pen and wrote up notes for enhancing my setting and further developing my character. I have a shelf full of books on writing and none have helped me nearly as much as your books have. Both books are so direct and easy to understand. I don’t feel like I have to go read a dozen other books just to understand what things like tone, POV, characterization etc really are in action as opposed to just getting a vague definition that some of the books on my shelf do.

    I also enjoyed both your fiction books, “A Certain Slant of Light” and “The Fetch” immensely. I loved the detail and the atmosphere that both books created. It made it hard to put them down and go to sleep at night. I hope you continue to write such vivid and engaging stories.

    Thanks so much for all your hard work,

    Rebecca C. Wright

    • Laura Whitcomb Says:

      Thank you, Rebecca. I’m glad the writing books worked for you and that you enjoyed my novels. It’s great to hear these things. It’s so long, for us writers, between composing the material and people reading it (anywhere from 6 to 18 months) that we delight at positive feedback! =D

Leave a Reply

