For lovers of supernatural books . . .

Here are some other books I recommend if you like the supernatural. books

One for Sorrow (Christopher Barzak) is about a boy who becomes a little too attached to the ghost of a former classmate–really interesting and spooky.

graveyard

 

 

 

 

Skellig (David Almond) is deceptively simple, but very effect. Hard to describe. When read aloud it sounds like a children’s book, rather than YA or adult, but it’s very cool. All I can say is, try it.

wingsAlphabet of Dreams (Susan Fletcher) has a wonderful dream magic in it. And the unique settings and descriptions are fabulous. 

Millais St Agnes Eve

 One of my favorite books from my YAhood is The Crystal Cave (Mary Stewart) about Merlin’s early life. The magic is so real, I knew it was true. I was convinced it happened just that way. (And maybe it did.)castle_scene

 

 

 

 

A YA classic that I didn’t discover until I was in my twenties is A Wrinkle in Time (Madeleine L’Engle) and again, it’s hard to describe. Charming. Completely absorbing.space

 

 

 

 

Talking about classics, nothing’s more fun than Peter Pan (J.M. Barrie) which I went back and read to my mother out loud during her last months. It was much funnier than I’d remembered and the way magic (fairies, flying, etc) is intermingled with mundane life (having spats, a first kiss, etc.) is brilliant.

pictures_from_old_books_3

The Historian (Elizabeth Kostova) may be a little long and slow for some (I thought it kicked in at about page 330) but it’s not only a supernatural adventure about Dracula, it’s a wonderful way to travel without leaving your house. You get to see fabulous cities and walk through museums and ruins and historic libraries, religious archives, secret treasuries. I felt like I was going on little out-of-body vacations whenever I’d get in bed and open the book.

vampire

By the way, if you know anyone who’d like to win a signed copy of SLANT, visit: http://lifebeyondtwilight.com/the-vixen-s-september-contest

6 Responses to “For lovers of supernatural books . . .”

  1. Karen Amanda Hooper Says:

    Thanks for the great suggestions. Love me some supernatural! 🙂

  2. Robin Says:

    I adored The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart! It is still the gold standard by which I measure all the historical fantasy I read. Great recap of supernatural books, Laura!

  3. Wendy Says:

    A Wrinkle in Time and The Crystal Cave are both big favorites of mine, too!

  4. Robin Says:

    Laura, Juliet Marillier’s DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST trilogy has a somewhat Crystal Cave-ish feel to it. It’s not about the Authurian legend, but the way she combines historical detail with fantasy elements is similarly satisfying. (Wow, try saying that three times really fast!)

Leave a Reply

